Ashtanga Yoga
Ernest Bisaev
Practice Card
Yoga Art

The eight aspects, which lead to yoga (connection with the devine) are defined from the Rishi Patanjali
and are called Ashtanga Yoga (eight limbs of yoga)

1.Yama how I behave to the external world
a) Ahimsa - non-violence
b) Satya - truthfulness
c) Asteya - not stealing
d) Brahmacarya - sexual abstinence
e) Aparigraha - giving up gambling, reducing of needs

2. Niyama - self observation
a) Sausha - internal and external purity
b) Santosha - satisfaction
c) Tapas - self-discipline
d) Svadyaya - studying of holy scriptures, reciting of mantras
e) Ishvarapranidhana - complete surrender to the supreme

3. Asana - yoga postures, control of the body

4. Pranayama - breathing techniques, control of the breath

5. Pratyahara - withdrawing the senses of the sense objects, control of the senses

6. Dharana - concentration, control of the thoughts

7. Dhyana - meditation, the realisation of the object of meditation

8. Samadhi - goal of yoga, union with the object of meditation

Ashtanga Yoga is a hathayogasystem, which was made known through Pattabhi Jois, his son
Manju Jois and his disciples in the west. The essence of this system is that the asanas are accompanied with continues ujjai breathing, (special breathing technique) energetic bonds-bandhas and visual focussing- dristhi. The asanas get connected with vinjasa (exercise elements) the heat which originates through this process makes the body more flexible. Very fast wonderful
energy realisation and concentration develops. The whole practice becomes a meditation with dynamic and static phases.

Ashtanga Yoga derives from
Yoga sutras of Maharisi Patanjali